The 10 Minute DIY Nautical Rope Necklace

New England born and raised, I know Summer calls for all things nautical including but not limited to navy blue stripes, sundresses, gold trim aviators, frozen yogurt, beach cottages, and cute baubles you can throw on with a basic tank for your favorite local dive bar or day drinking with your best gals sans gentlemen. Inspired by the Capes of Cod and the Blocks of Island, check out my super quick and easy Nautical Rope Necklace you can wear all season long! This project takes just under 10 minutes! Can’t beat that!

The Fab and Frugal - DIY Nautical Rope NecklaceYou’ll need any color rope which you can get in the trimmings section of Joann Fabrics for ~$2 a yard (I chose white because I can throw it on with any look!), Fray Check (not necessary but always a good thing so you don’t have to worry about it falling apart), E6000 (my all time fave for sticking things together), Jewelry Ends (for hooking the ends together when you’re almost through), and a Clip Loop (also not necessary if you choose to use a ribbon like me, but good if you like a cleaner look).

The Fab and Frugal - DIY Nautical Rope NecklaceThe length of the two ropes depends on how long or short you want your necklace. I chose 16″ for each of the ropes which I think sits just lovely on my neck.

The Fab and Frugal - DIY Nautical Rope NecklaceInterlock the middle of the two ropes and tie a knot. It should look like the above image after a bit of tug-o-war. Be sure to watch that your ends of rope are even for the next step.

The Fab and Frugal - DIY Nautical Rope NecklaceScotch tape the ends together and add your jewelry ends with your handy dandy E6000.

The Fab and Frugal - DIY Nautical Rope NecklaceAdd a few drop of Fray Check to each end so you don’t have to worry about the rope untangling and falling apart before you can wear it through the Summer! LET DRY and your DONE!

The Fab and Frugal - DIY Nautical Rope NecklaceRibbons are for lovers. I just slipped in this thin navy ribbon I found in my sewing kit! Que cute!

The Fab and Frugal - DIY Nautical Rope NecklaceThe Fab and Frugal - DIY Nautical Rope Necklace